Skip to content

Employee Spotlight – Making a Difference

February 24, 2012

I love sales! I have been a sales person since I was a little girl. When Janine copy my mom would say, “you can’t leave the table until you eat all you meatloaf!” I would say, “how about 3 more bites? If I don’t eat all of this, my stomach won’t hurt later!” I would negotiate and try to sell the benefits of everything.

When I was 15, I was in retail sales and after retail I worked in every sales area you can think of — working at a race track selling tickets, selling home improvement, selling subscriptions to real estate websites, and nothing has been more gratifying then selling and being a part of Bill.com’s sales team. By working at Bill.com, I not only showed people how to take a leap of faith by putting their finances online, I took it to the next level by using our product for my mom’s non-profit charity.

I learned a lot from my mother on giving as she served in the Peace Corps, taught catechism at church, tutored high school students in Spanish, and always helped people in any way she could. She was a nurse for 30 years at Petaluma Valley Hospital and before she was diagnosed with cancer, she started a nursing fund. Because my mom was always so active in the community, I decided that I wanted to start giving back like my mother did.

It was my mother’s request for everyone to donate to the Donna Lee Memorial scholarship fund instead of giving roses at her funeral. She wanted to raise money for students to have the opportunity to attend nursing school at Santa Rosa Junior College. Every year the scholarship fund donates $250.00 to local students in pursuit of a nursing career.

Working at Bill.com prompted me to organize an event that would allow me to incorporate our products online invoicing into the donation process for my mom’s scholarship fund. This year I am holding a fundraiser event at Traxx Bar and Grill in my hometown, Petaluma, CA. For anyone that eats or drinks at Traxx, a portion will be donated to the Donna Lee scholarship fund.

I am hoping to help make a difference in educating the nurses who have the ability to save lives. I believe we all want to leave a footprint before leaving this world and this scholarship is my way of giving back like my mother did.

If you would like to join us in Petaluma in June, you can find the details below.

Thank you for support, Janine

Join me on Linkedin.

Event Info:
Place: Traxx Bar and Grill
Date: Saturday, June 23rd
Time: 11am to 9pm

To donate online through your Bill.com account: To be invoiced for ePayment send an email to jestrada@hq.bill.com.

To donate by check: Please send to 1501 Mendocino Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA 95401. Please reference the Donna Lee Estrada Memorial Scholarship (Fund #4257) when sending in your donation. Contributions can be made online using any major credit card.

Click here for a direct link to the giving page. Enter "Donna Lee Estrada" in the space that says, "Please designate my gift as follows (if not specified above)". Any donation is appreciated.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

