Skip to content

4 Questions for Lee J. Knoll, COO of Knoll & Company, P.C.

January 11, 2012

Q1. How did you get into your line of work?Rightrail_LeeKnoll
It is fairly simple how I became a practicing CPA. My father, who has been a practicing for over 40 years, started his own CPA firm in 1979. I knew that following in his footsteps was always an option and when I entered college, I chose accounting as my major. Although I enjoyed accounting, I was enthralled with the prospects of Sports Science and transferred to Colorado State University. When I completed my studies, I found there weren’t many jobs in Sports Science/Wellness in Colorado.

Around the same time, my dad’s partner at his CPA firm was leaving, so in 1992, I went to work for my dad. I found out that I really loved accounting work, audits and learning all the different ways people made money. I returned to school, completed the required accounting courses, and earned my CPA.

I soon became a partner and have been running Knoll & Company, P.C. since 1996, so that my dad can slow down and start retirement.

Q2. What have you learned through the school of hard knocks?
I have learned to never under value your services, always be eager to try new things, and always stand behind your business.

Q3. What keeps you up at night?
It is an important responsibility to keep our customer’s businesses running smoothly, so I tend to worry about the balance of work, and day-to-day operations.

Q4. How has Bill.com helped your business chase its dreams?
Bill.com’s bill payment software has helped our firm dramatically. We always know what bills have been paid online and what have not. We no longer have to manually sign checks anymore. Now we use the ACH payments that are built into Bill.com’s solution. Bill.com’s approval process and payables system has made Knoll & Company more efficient — allowing us to quickly review our clients bills, assess if they are being recorded correctly, and most efficiently, we do not have to be in the office to approve or pay them.

Our firm has just started using Bill.com Receivables, so the online invoicing has really had a positive impact on our client’s businesses. Our firm also loves Bill.com’s document storage capabilities — we know exactly where all the copies of the bills, contracts, and supporting documents are. We don’t have to look through a paper file cabinet or drive to the office to find the details – you really can’t beat that!

Download a complete PDF of these 4 Questions.

Note: 4 Questions is a regular feature on the Bill.com blog where we ask the same 4 questions of a different Bill.com customer. Given the tremendous passion and can-do attitude of small and mid-sized businesses, we believe these same 4 Questions will result not in repeat answers, but in interesting insight into many different journeys. Want to be profiled? Tweet @billcom or email us and let us know!

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

