Skip to content

4 Questions for Daniel Watford, Founder of Watford & Associates, LLC

December 21, 2011

Q1. How did you get into your line of work?Rightrail_Daniel-1
I have always had an entrepreneurial spirit, but I started working for a local CPA firm in Washington, DC, in their outsourced accounting department in 2003. Ninety percent of their clientele were non-profit organizations and we basically took over their accounting departments. As I bounced from client to client, solving problems and building relationships, I began to realize how much I loved being that go-to guy. As their internal partner, we were helping organizations achieve their missions by spending less time on the back office details. It was hard work but very rewarding.

I worked there for three years and then in 2007, I decided branch out and start my own company — Watford & Associates, LLC.
 
Q2. What have you learned through the school of hard knocks?
I have learned that you are never going to be able to please everyone, so you should focus on providing the best service that you can.
 
Q3. What keeps you up at night?
As a small business owner, it's hard to find the time to build the business and get the work done. So I work for my clients all day and work for my company at night. Whether it's paying bills, preparing invoices, or researching potential clients, there is always something to do.
 
Q4. How has Bill.com helped your business chase its dreams?
I always like to experience new solutions for my company before I recommend it to my clients. Bill.com has allowed me to be more efficient, manage cash flow, pay online, and has freed up a lot of the time I used to spend entering and paying bills for my company. In addition, I have introduced Bill.com to my clients through the Accountant's Program, and it has allowed me to focus less on the transactional function of accounts payable, and more on the advisory aspect of my job. I can't say enough good things about the cloud-based solution. Bill.com is easy to use; it integrates seamlessly with QuickBooks Online, and allows me to save time and money that I can use towards my growing business.

Download a complete PDF of these 4 Questions

Follow Daniel on Twitter: @DanielTWatford and Facebook

Note: 4 Questions is a regular feature on the Bill.com blog where we ask the same 4 questions of a different Bill.com customer. Given the tremendous passion and can-do attitude of small and mid-sized businesses, we believe these same 4 Questions will result not in repeat answers, but in interesting insight into many different journeys. Want to be profiled? Tweet @billcom or email us and let us know!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

