Skip to content

Employee Spotlight – Give a Darn!

November 21, 2011

Ken Blanchard, the author of over fifty business management books says, "To ensure that your work is also a play, I recommend that you develop a personal mission statement. This will help you find what it is you enjoy so much that you lose track of time when you're doing it." I cannot agree with him more. Throughout my professional and volunteer lives, I’ve always lived by my personal mission statement – give a darn!

Bill.com and KEEN (Kids Enjoy Exercise Now) are Josephine-w-kids-pic
two organizations to which I proudly belong. They provide me with opportunities to live by my personal mission statement.

“What exactly do you do?” you might wonder.

As a Systems Engineer at Bill.com, I build and support the IT infrastructure of our online software. My goal is to minimize your hair-pulling occurrences by providing you with a rock-solid infrastructure where you can pay your vendors and invoice your customers safely and efficiently. 

As a Project Leader at KEEN, I lead a bi-weekly volunteer project that benefits kids with mental and developmental challenges (mostly autism). My goal is to maximize the kids’ potential to fully recover by providing them a fun and safe environment where they can foster self-esteem, confidence, and skills through fun activities, allowing them to meet their goals in spite of their challenges.



“How do you give a darn?” you might ask.

Neither roles gives me superpower to fix world issues, but both roles provide me with opportunities to give a darn by caring, with all my heart, about your reliance on our product and the kids’ potential to recover. As a Systems Engineer, I cannot pay your bills, nor can I create your invoices. But the least I can do is to proactively monitor the systems and the network that Bill.com runs on, reactively fix any issues that may arise, and promptly respond to alerts no matter what time of the day it is. As a Project Leader, I cannot reverse the kids’ sickness, nor can I find a cure for autism. But the least I can do is to support them and to
smile/laugh with them through their journey of recovery.

“How do you know if your personal mission statement is working?” you might also ask.

Communication. Your feedback is an invaluable form of communication to us. We welcome your comments with open arms. Kids may not be verbal, but they know how to create the most beautiful sounds on earth – genuine laughter. These communications are ingredients and testaments to our growth and success. So go ahead. Bill.com customers, inundate us with feedback. KEEN kids: shower me with laughter.

Thanks for reading,
Josephine

Visit KEEN on facebook to learn how you can help.

or Donate to KEEN here

One Comment
  1. You sure have some amazing people over there bill.com!

Leave a Reply

