Skip to content

Employee Spotlight – Riding For A Cause

September 22, 2011

How can I help you today? This phrase that is all too familiar to me andAidsridelogo
something that I have been comfortable with saying since I was 16.

As a Customer Service Representative at Bill.com, I have engrained helping into my persona to the point that I dream of it at night. This metamorphosis has gotten me to think about how I can take helping to the next level. I have always wanted to get more invloved in helping people, and now more than ever, I just have the desire to roll up my sleeves and get my hands dirty. 
   
Lately, I have found that I have wanted more of a challenge with, “how can I help you?” From a young age I used that phrase to propel me into the entertainment world, with theater, writing and directing. I helped people escape into a world that is not their own and made them either laugh, cry, get angry or yes even at times, get bored. But this escape, although necessary at times for all of us, led me to wanting to do more for a cause.

I have taken to peddling help in the form of two wheels – out in the open air and working towards a bigger cause – the AIDS LIfecycle Ride. This journey starts from San Francisco and will end in Los Angeles covering 600 miles in 7 days. Why this cause and this ride? I want to help those that have been affected by AIDS in their life. When I was five, my Uncle Bob died of AIDS, which he contracted from a blood transfusion. I barely had a chance to know him, but what I did know, I really loved. Three years ago my brother Josh decided to participate in the AIDS ride through his church and has committed to every yearly ride since then. So I have joined my brother and have signed up for the challenge to help those that are in need. 
   
I know that the AIDS Ride 2012 will be challenging, push me to the edge of my comfort zone and take everything I have, but the idea that my participation and donation of $3000 can help make a difference in somebody’s life has really made a profound difference already in mine and that is what is so rewarding.

If you are interested in learing more, please check out the AIDS Ride website: http://www.aidslifecycle.org, find a rider, donate your money or your time and ask yourself, “How can I help you today?”

Thank you for your support, David. @davidcmcguire

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

