Skip to content

4 Questions for W. Michael Hsu, CEO and Founder, DeepSky

July 27, 2011

  1. How did you get into your line of work?
I always knew I wanted to be an entrepreneur Rightrail_mHsu but wasn’t completely sure how to achieve it. After getting my CPA and Masters of Accountancy, I started working for a public accounting firm. Working as a consultant, I felt as if the accounting departments of the businesses I was working with were not moving forward as the rest of the same business would grow. One day it hit me, “why am I going to different accounting departments trying to fix problems one at a time when I can just build my own solution and allows other businesses to benefit from it?” From there, DeepSky was born with the sole focus of helping entrepreneurs to be successful. I based my business on the radical idea of applying cloud based technology solutions to accounting practices – this combination helps business owners make strategic real time decisions that allow them to achieve their goals.

2. What have you learned through the school of hard knocks?
I am still learning, but I believe that there are three things that are engrained in my business process:

  • Be humble and confident – This opens doors. People are more willing to help you learn and become more successful.
  • Do more with less – Small changes make a big impact.
  • Make ideas happenIdeas have great value, but it is important to take action because action makes an idea become a reality.

3. What keeps you up at night?
My customers and how I can deliver a better experience to them. DeepSky is unlike any accounting firm or what anyone in the accounting industry has done. It is similar to how Bill.com changed the industry for paying and managing bills. I dream at night of reaching potential customers who haven’t found our business. I had a prospect call me and say “I have been looking for you for your service for the last 2 months. I just didn’t know what you were called or that you existed.” I wont have to count sheep anymore once I know my customers can easily find DeepSky.

4. How has Bill.com helped your business chase its dreams?
I’m not trying to be cheesy but when I love a product, I talk about it a lot. I love Bill.com and I tell other people all the time how much I love your financial platform. Bill.com has changed the marketplace and changed the way bill pay, workflow, invoicing and document storage is supposed to be done. We are educating our customers about the benefits of Bill.com – once they start using it they love Bill.com just as much as we do. Bill.com changes their life and is a cornerstone of our service.

Download a complete PDF of these 4 questions

Note: 4 Questions is a new feature on the Bill.com blog where we will ask the same 4 questions of a different Bill.com customer. Given the tremendous passion and can-do attitude of small and mid-sized businesses, we believe these same four questions will result not in repeat answers, but in interesting insight into many different journeys. Want to be profiled? Tweet us at @billcom and let us know!

One Comment
  1. What a great case study of an entrepreneur filling a need!

Leave a Reply

