Skip to content

4 Questions for Bing Cheng, Accountant @Zong

May 24, 2011

4 Questions is a recurring feature on the Bill.com blog where we ask the same 4 questions every month of a different Bill.com customer. Given the tremendous passion and can-do attitude of small and mid-sized businesses, these same four questions result not in repeat answers, but in interesting insight into many different journeys. Want to be profiled? Tweet us at @billcom and let us know!

Q. How did you get into your line of work?
I started Business School thinking I wanted to focus on marketing, but I had the opportunity to work in the finance group at a start-up and found it invigorating. It was as if fate had me and I have enjoyed it ever since. The funny thing about finance was that I didn't particularly enjoy accounting or finance classes per say, but when it became less theoretical and more practical situations my passion ignited.

Q. What have you learned through the school of hard knocks?
After working in the San Francisco Bay Area for over 15 years, I've learned that you should never burn bridges. The world is a small place and you never know whom you will be working with in the future.  

Q. What keeps you up at night?
Worrying about the future, whether it’s short-term or long-term. I worry about how short-term things affect our long-term planning and about decisions from my job today, and how it will affect my career years from now. I also think, “am I working for a company that is the next big thing – YES!", it is all very exciting and sleep depriving!

Q. How has Bill.com helped your business chase its dreams
So far, I've worked at 2 start-ups where either the CEO or CFO like to be able to sign all of the outbound company checks. This may seem feasible if you are only writing a dozen checks a month, and the signer is easily accessible, but start-ups live at a hectic pace and nothing is that easy. My previous CFO would take a whole day to sign checks finding it difficult to break away from business just to sit, review and sign checks.  When I started at my current company, I found that our CEO was always in demand and was difficult to catch for check signing. Bill.com has allowed both my previous CFO and CEO the ability to approve payments, and virtually sign checks from their mobile phone or any place they have access to the Internet. Now this process that I dreaded has become seamless allowing our company to focus attention on what matters: keeping our company #Zong as the top mobile platform for digital goods on gaming sites.

Download a complete PDF of these 4 questions

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

