Skip to content

4 Questions for Rosemary Camposano, Owner of Halo Blow Dry Bar

December 15, 2010

Note: 4 Questions is a new feature on the Bill.com blog where we will ask the same 4 questions every month of a different Bill.com customer. Given the tremendous passion and can-do attitude of small and mid-sized businesses, we believe these same four questions will result not in repeat answers, but in interesting insight into many different journeys. Want to be profiled? Tweet us at @billcom and let us know!

  
Q: How did you get into your line of work?

Halo_LockupI first thought of the idea for a blow-dry bar 15 years ago while having my hair done in a little hotel in El Salvador.  My husband is Chilean and in most Latin countries the weather is hot and women have long, beautiful hair they get professionally blown out. On every trip I wondered, "Why don't we have this kind of service in the U.S.? American women want to feel and look great, too."  

Fast forward to last year when I learned someone was “stealing” my idea and opening a Blow Dry Bar in San Francisco. I went to check it out with the idea of possibly buying a franchise.  It was a cool place — but VERY edgy.  I knew then I could make it work —with a theme crafted to appeal to suburban women (like me) and their daughters. HALO Blow Dry Bar was born not long afterwards.

 Q: What have you learned through the school of hard knocks?

I'm pretty sure I've earned my PhD from that school by now!  The secret is to "act as if" until you have learned.  By "acting as if" it was natural to be the boss…I became the boss.  By "acting as if" I knew what transitional marketing was…I learned it.  By "acting as if" I could be an entrepreneur and start a business in and industry I had never worked in, I am now in that industry and know what I'm doing. The key is – you have to be paying attention and learning all the time.  

Q: What keeps you up at night?

Like any busy business person, my overwhelmed memory is something that bothers me.  Have I forgotten a key detail, left a critical task undone, or neglected to follow up with someone? My cure for that is to hire very talented and competent people.

Q: How has Bill.com helped your business chase its dreams?

Bill.com is an antidote to many of the “what have I forgotten” loop in my head. My new accountant uses Bill.com and I can authorize her to pay bills literally during a coffee break, even on my iPhone. I will never be kept awake at night worrying about unpaid bills or wondering about cash flow.  

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

